Tip of the Cap: Ivan Rosebud

by

So everyone knows one of my favorite bands on Earth is The Rosebuds.

In Ivan’s 2009 Year End List of highlights, number one is the show from the Middle East I was at last January.

    “When we played the Middle East Club in Boston this year I introduced our bass player Brad Cook (from Megafaun and Gayngs) to the crowd and they actually clapped for about five minutes straight without stopping. They realized what they were all doing half way into it and just kept getting louder and louder and louder till the place basically erupted and we had to almost stop the show early.”

What Ivan doesn’t realize is that we were clapping so enthusiastically because it was just so damn good to see a big, hairy Irish looking guy profusely sweating and rocking out so profoundly on bass like that. The guy was into it, working it and every damn one of us knew it and appreciated it.

We here in Boston know about hard work and partying and Brad Cook looks like he can hang.

Brad Cook

Come back anytime, folks, and we’ll treat you the same.

Meanwhile, if you missed it, Ivan’s song about the time he and Brad were pulled over and detained by the police on a case of mistaken identity was released earlier this year on Hear Here!, a compilation featuring Raleigh, NC area artists. Full story and streaming version of “Brad Cook Is Not Your Man” right here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Tip of the Cap: Ivan Rosebud”

  1. Ozzy McGurt Says:

    Jesus Christ Ken. I’d given you up for dead. Thought maybe you cracked under the pressure of the Obama administration and put a bullet in your brain. Glad to see you’re still alive, if not quite sane. Just happened to drop by here on a whim and Glory Be, nearly a month’s worth of postings. Maybe you should cut back on the coffee a bit. You seem nervous. Merry Christmas Mother Fucker.

  2. Cullen Says:

    I had my doubts about you, too, you bastard.

  3. Ken Socrates Says:

    Merry Christmas to both of you inbred tortoise abusers. I know I’m not the most prolific of late but it’s good to know I still have a few pals/evil nemesis’ out there who remember me. I have a great fondness for the hijinks we’ve shared and it’s me own damn fault we’ve been slack.

    Oz, I’m surprised we don’t see you a bit over at Hockey Gone Wild, knowing what a fanatic you are of the frozen pugilistic arts. I still vividly recall that time after the Avalanche won the Cup in ’01 that you tried to bum rush Ray Bourque at the parade in Denver and Chris Dingman had to wrestle you to the ground.

    And Cullen, don’t think I’m not watching your every move and not just because I adore bearded men who can dance. No, I know at some point you’re coming to make me pay for what I did to your Boston Whaler 285 that time you lent it to me in the Gulf and I need to be ready,

Leave a Reply

